Skip to content

June 4, 2021

Quartz Hill Records Flagship Artist Nate Barnes Releases Debut EP You Ain’t Pretty Available Digitally Worldwide Now

Quartz Hill Records Flagship Artist Nate Barnes Releases Debut EP You Ain’t Pretty
Available Digitally Worldwide
Now features exclusive interview and video premiere of “Introducing: Nate Barnes”

 NASHVILLE, TN (June 4, 2021) –– Country music newcomer Nate Barnes released his debut EP, You Ain’t Pretty, today, June 4. The five-song debut, produced by Mickey Jack Cones and Derek George, is available now to download and stream.


“I had some of the most wonderful people to write songs about; strong loving people that love God, their country and their families.  They just taught me so much about life and inspired me to follow my dream of pursuing music,” explains Barnes. “I am so proud of the songs on my debut EP and I am so thankful to Benny Brown and the whole family at Quartz Hill Records for making my dream come true. I can’t believe this day is finally here.”


You Ain’t Pretty is a collection of songs that offer a taste into the former power plant workers’ everyday life lived in the small town of South Haven, Michigan. From the fiery “Right About Me,” to the swaggering “Ain’t Got A Shot,” to the flirtatiously rocking groove on “I Love You Too,” not to mention the empowering EP title track and current radio single “You Ain’t Pretty,” Barnes sings the stories of every working-class American.


In anticipation of the release, a featured article and “Introducing: Nate Barnes” video premiered exclusively on In the interview, Barnes reveals how his grandfather inspired his love for music and storytelling.  Read the full exclusive HERE.


Barnes is currently out on the road in support of his radio single, “You Ain’t Pretty” which Cowboys & Indians described as “…a meltingly romantic love song from a blue-collar country troubadour.” Recently the country newcomer was featured on iHeartRadio’s Climbing The Charts,” and was showcased on Entercom’s highly-rated nationwide radio show, “The Rob and Holly Show.” For up-to-date information on Barnes visit,


Official You Ain’t Pretty EP Track Listing & Songwriter Credits:



  1. “Ain’t Got a Shot” — (Rob Hatch / Steve Moakler / Aaron Eshuis)


  1. “Right About Me” — (Neil Thrasher / Michael Delaney /Jason Sellers)


  1. “You Ain’t Pretty” — (Nate Barnes/ Jimmy Yeary / Jason Sellers)


  1. “If This Ain’t Heaven” — (Taylor Davis / Wendell Mobley / Jason Sellers)


  1. “I Love You Too” — (Lance Miller / James McNair / Brandon Day / Jason Sellers)


About Nate Barnes:

Hailing from South Haven, Michigan, Nate Barnes is a young, blue-collar storyteller who writes and sings about God, family, hard work, heartache, love, and the simple joys of life. The former nuclear power plant worker spent years playing bars, coffee shops, small venues and festivals in and around his hometown while juggling a grueling day job that included shoveling and digging trenches, laying pipelines, pouring concrete and performing mechanical maintenance duties for the plant, oftentimes enduring extreme weather conditions and 14-hour shifts. A virtual unknown before signing with Quartz Hill Records, Barnes’ debut single, “You Ain’t Pretty” has earned 15 million TikTok streams, 3+million YouTube views and his music has garnered over 2.2 million total streams. “You Ain’t Pretty” was also a Top 10 Most Added Song four out of its first five weeks at country radio. (Mediabase)


For more information about Nate Barnes visit: and follow him on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter– @NateBarnesMusic.